Gorkha at a glance

Gorkha District (Nepali: गोरखा जिल्ला), a part of Province No. 4, is one of the seventy-five districts of Nepal and connected historically with the creation of the modern Nepal and the name of the legendary Gurkha soldiers. The district, with Pokharithok (Gorkha), later known as Prithivi Narayan Nagarpalika as its district headquarters, covers an area of 3,610 km² and has a population (2001) of 288,134. It is the location of the Manakamana Temple. Also, the temples of great sage Gorakh Nath and goddess Gorakh Kali temple is located in district, after which the district got its name. Four major rivers run within and along it - the Chepe, Daraudi, Marsyangdi, and Budhi Gandaki.

Area 3,610 Km2 (1,390 sq mi)
Capital Gorkha
Population 272,169
Official Languages Nepali, Ghale, Gurung, Magar, Newari

Gorkha Kingdom: 

About 1700 steps leads you to the top of the hill at an altitude of 3281 ft. where Newar fashioned Gorkha Palace stands firm along with forts and temple boasting on its rich History. It is at 40–50 minutes of Walking Distance far from Gorkha Bazaar. One can view Manaslu(the 8th Highest Mountain of the World), Dhaulagiri and Ganesh Mountains from the Palace Complex.

Popular Tourist Destination